The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Grand Canyon 2011: A Glorious Trip Interrupted by the Worst Day of My Life

In April, Dave and I went to Arizona in order to make our third trip down Bright Angel Trail to Phantom Ranch, at the bottom of the Grand Canyon. We’re hikers but not athletes, and this hike tests our limits. This time, I think we found our limits, at least on the way down. But it was still a great trip. I have a few regrets, but they’re all centered on that one day. The rest of the trip was nothing short of glorious.

So I’m going to write a series of blog posts, covering our stays in Sedona and along the South Rim of the Grand Canyon, our various lodgings, the people we met, Phantom Ranch itself, the hike out, some of the beautiful scenery (photos!), and the worst day of my life — April 26, 2011, the day we hiked down. On my food blog, I will also be discussing where and what we ate.

 

May 28, 2011 - Posted by | national parks, travel | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

