The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Does the Dog Die? A Brief Review of Storm Front, by Jim Butcher

This is not the kind of book I normally read. But for what it is, it’s fun, and I can understand how fans of the dark and faintly comic Dresden Files have come to enjoy the series.

Harry Dresden is a wizard, sort of eeking by making a living on-call with the police and the occasional private client. Think Sam Spade with a few extra tricks up his sleeve. He’s down on his luck, broke, pissing people off with some frequency, and possessing certain extraordinary powers that don’t seem to have much practical application.

So then this all turns into a sort of sci-fi police procedural, and it’s sort of interesting to me, and intriguing to others, and I’m happy that Mr. Butcher is making a successful living doing what he wants and that he has fans. You know if this is your kind of book, and if it is, you’ll probably enjoy it. I stretched my horizons a bit when I read it, but I’m probably not going to pursue the series. Now back to the historical fiction I seem to be reading a lot of these days.

As for animals, Harry Dresden has a cat (because Harry is a wizard), named Mister. Nothing bad happens to Mister, although his tail was damaged when he was a kitten. When Harry encounters one of the villains, that person has a dead or dying rabbit, but the mention of this is fleeting. So this book is completely SAFE for animal lovers.

September 1, 2010 - Posted by | beach book, Book Reviews | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. When I read the first Dreseden book years back, I was very “meh” about it. But when I went on reading the series I ended up really liking it. Of course some books are better than others, which is natural in a series, but overall I find it highly enjoyable.
    (However, I do read sci-fi/fantasy on a regular basis.)

    Also, Mister kicks butt and later he gets a super awesome dog. =)

    Comment by Adrienne | September 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. Started reading the books after the TV series was canceled… and, of course, found that they were completely different, but by then, I was hooked. I hope you pick up another one some day.

    And Adrienne is right – Mister is awesome, and Harry later gets this fabulous, mystical HUGE dog named Mouse. I want both. 🙂

    Comment by KarenRambo | September 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

