The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Zoom, Zoom!!!

A few weeks ago, Dave bought me a new camera as an early birthday present (yes, he really is that wonderful). After visiting the Penn Camera store where my friend Melanie works, I settled on a Nikon P90. I wanted a reasonably light camera with a minimum 5X zoom, and I didn’t want to think too hard about lighting. The Nikon P90 has a 24X zoom, though the last 6X is digital, which can be a bit blurry even with all the stabilization settings. Still, 18X is amazing! This camera has so many settings that I felt I had to dedicate an entire day to it. One day wasn’t enough — there will be more “camera days” in the next few weeks. However, I am awed by what this thing can do.

While I could still take the camera back to Penn Camera, I did some test shots to make sure it wasn’t defective. Here, then, is the obligatory “cat on the sofa” test picture:

Eddie on sofa

I then stepped onto the back porch, zoomed to the full 24X, aimed the thing at a neighbor’s back patio, and got an artistically blurry mess because even though I have an extremely steady hand, 24X is hard to pull off without help. A few minutes later, with 1 of the 2 stabilization features in place, I took the same shot as a much less blurry mess. Side-by-side comparison below:

DSCN0003   versus  DSCN0008

Here are some other close-ups of neighbors’ yards, all taken from my porch using the zoom feature:

next door neighbor's garden from about 30 feet

more neighborhood flowers from my porch

neighborhood tree

On to Camera Day! There are about 40,000 different settings on this camera, or so it seems, and I could possibly care about half of them, which is a lot. There are “scene settings” for museums, fireworks, dusk, dawn, indoor parties, etc., etc., etc. Two settings that particularly captured my imagination were Copy and Food. Copy does just that — as you can see from this page in the manual:

DSCN0032

Food is just amazing. It assumes a close-up and offers you five possible tints. Here is the bowl of pistachios that lives on my coffee table, shown in neutral, maximum blue, and maximum red:

DSCN0037  DSCN0036  DSCN0035

There are various ways of doing close-ups, too, and here are some from my back porch and a park I visited:

DSCN0024

leaf

DSCN0042

Finally, the zoom feature on its own produces some pretty amazing shots, even without specific scene settings. Below, a caterpillar on a cattail, and a Canadian goose, both taken from a distance.

DSCN0047

DSCN0050

Thanks again to Dave — and there may be more posts like this one as I explore the camera further.

October 2, 2009 - Posted by | random thoughts | , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. What fun!

    Comment by T-bird | October 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. Niiiiiccccceeeee!!!! 🙂

    Comment by jes | October 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. Looks like a nice little camera! Congratulations. And Eddie’s lookin’ good! 🙂

    Comment by Gayle (Gazehound's Animal Communication) | October 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

