The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Does the Dog Die? A Brief Review of Comfort Food, by Kate Jacobs

After loving The Friday Night Knitting Club, I had high hopes for Kate Jacobs’ next novel, Comfort Food. I will admit that there was a point early on where I felt a bit let down, mostly due to the syrupy perfection of Augusta (aka Gus), the protagonist. Then things picked up, the book took off, and I started laughing out loud. I don’t recall Knitting Club as being this funny, so I am here to announce that Kate Jacobs can pull off the humorous scenes as well as anyone in the business.

In a nutshell, Gus has her own cooking show and, in an attempt to boost ratings, the network pairs her with Carmen, a preening, ambitious, former Miss Spain. Gus already has her hands full with two difficult adult daughters she raised alone, an ex-future-son-in-law, a new love interest, a reclusive neighbor, and a contest-winner, all of whom end up on her show, along with assorted others. I did think Gus was an overbearing mother, and I did not sympathize with her the way I suspect Jacobs wanted me to, but Gus lightens up toward the end. It all comes together, as Gus fights to preserve her career, Carmen fights to start hers, the daughters just fight, the love interest fights to get a word in edgewise, and I fight laughing out loud in public.

(Yeah, it’s a simple plot. It works.)

This is brain candy, by the way. Nothing wrong with that, I’m just telling you. And I recommend it to those in the mood for brain candy.

 Animals? There are two cats who show up briefly and are not bothered or abused or neglected in any way, shape, or form. So this book is perfectly SAFE for animal lovers.

August 19, 2009 - Posted by | beach book, Book Reviews, cats, food | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

