The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Reality TV: Top Chef, The Bachelor, and American Idol

I don’t watch a lot of TV, but I have a predilection towards so-called “reality TV.” I think “unscripted” is a better term, although even that term is too kind for some shows.

The fifth season of Top Chef ended this week, and although I love the show, I was disappointed with the season overall. I thought this was a relatively weak group of chefs compared to previous seasons, and many of the stronger chefs fizzled, burnt out, or otherwise had issues. My two favorites from the cast were Carla Hall, who came in third, and Fabio Viviani, who came in fourth. Both had strong, vivid personalities and distinctive cooking styles. In a more realistic environment, where they can think about menus, test recipes before serving them, and work out the kinks if something isn’t perfect, I imagine them to be beyond excellent. I would love to eat their cooking! So a “hootie-hoo” to Carla and a “grazie” to Fabio for making the season more entertaining and giving me someone to care about. I’m already looking forward to the next iteration of Top Chef.

By contrast, we have the complete and utter mess known as The Bachelor. One would expect that a so-called reality TV show would keep to its premise about 90% of the time, but in this case, one would be wrong. The level of manipulation on this show is so deep, it makes you wonder why they don’t just hire actors — except they have done that, with mixed results. Anyway, this latest season has sunk to new depths. Fortunately, Reality Steve explains it all to you. If you want to see the sordid underside of “reality” TV, Steve will lift up the rock and show you all the dirty, squirming vermin. This show is as much about romance as a kitten is about quantum physics.

Then there’s American Idol. I don’t care what is or isn’t manipulated on that show. I keep it on mute most of the time, except when there’s singing by someone who’s competent or better. Then I wait for them to release their music after the show. One former contestant with a new CD is Melinda Doolittle. Remember her? Back-up singer with a big voice and an overly-humble attitude? I don’t know about the attitude, but she’s still got the big voice. Her soul and R&B CD, Coming Back to You, is great! I’m listening to it right now, and I love it. I took the chance and bought the whole CD instead of doing individual downloads, and I’m glad I did because I would choose to download 11 of the 13 selections. If you want to download some sample cuts, my favorites are Walkin’ Blues, If I’m Not in Love, and Dust My Broom. Enjoy!

February 28, 2009 - Posted by | Top Chef, YouTube/music | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I heart Fabio and was very disappointed when he got bounced.

    Comment by Pandionna | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    THIS IS A DREAM JOB! No gimmicks. No catch. Work from home whenever you want!

    Comment by Joven | March 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. “Former American Idol Contestant, Melinda Doolittle.

    Melinda Doolittle (Season 6), Chikezie
    (Season 7), Gina Glocksen (Season 6) and Phil Stacey (Season 6) will be
    entertaining the masses once again as they embark on a Spring Tour which
    launches March 15th in Fort Pierce, FL and will make stops in 14 cities across
    the U.S.

    The “American Stars in Concert: Spring Break” tour dates and cities are at Melinda Doolittle official website http://www.melindadoolittle.com or fan website http://www.melindasbackups.com

    Comment by weezzy7 | March 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. “Former American Idol Contestant, Melinda Doolittle.

    Melinda Doolittle (Season 6), Chikezie
    (Season 7), Gina Glocksen (Season 6) and Phil Stacey (Season 6) will be
    entertaining the masses once again as they embark on a Spring Tour which
    launches March 15th in Fort Pierce, FL and will make stops in 14 cities across
    the U.S.

    The “American Stars in Concert: Spring Break” tour dates and cities are at Melinda Doolittle official website .melindadoolittle. or fan website .melindasbackups.

    Comment by weezzy7 | March 14, 2009 | Reply

  5. I adored Fabio. I pretty much only watch reality TV (exceptions made for Glee, and The Office). Can’t get enough of Project Runway.

    As for The Bachelor—it’s ridiculous and completely artificial. And yet… somehow I keep forgetting to delete it from the Tivo. So it gets recorded and then one day when I’m bored I end up deciding I’ll just watch one episode, and then after that. Well. You know what happens.

    Comment by gustines | November 1, 2009 | Reply

  6. MELINDA DOOLITTLE IN HER FIRST-EVER NIGHTCLUB ENGAGEMENT

    NOVEMBER 17 – 21, NEW YORK CITY

    FEINSTEIN’S AT LOEWS REGENCY, the nightclub proclaimed “Best of New York” by New York Magazine, will debut MELINDA DOOLITTLE in her first-ever nightclub engagement from November 17 – 21. The “American Idol” finalist will perform an intimate evening of jazz standards, pop hits and Broadway classics, in addition to selections from her CD, Coming Back To You. All shows are at the Regency Hotel (540 Park Avenue at 61st Street). For ticket reservations and club information, please call (212) 339-4095 or visit feinsteinsatloewsregency.com and TicketWeb.com.

    Comment by Weezzy7 | November 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

