The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Does the Dog Die? A Brief Review of Halide’s Gift, by Frances Kazan

As a history major at the University of Illinois, I took a senior seminar for which I had to write what turned out to be a short thesis. The topic of my seminar was Women in Islam, and my paper discussed a legendary Turkish feminist, Halide Edib Adivar. Edib Adivar was a prolific writer, a revolutionary, and a politician, as well as an amazing person by any standards. So when I saw that Frances Hazan had novelized Edib Adivar’s early years, I purchased the book.

This is not, as I’d hoped, the book that introduces Halide Edib Adivar to this country’s reading public. The writing style is a bit too … young adult-ish? It lacked something, and I can’t put my finger on what that might be. It’s also largely the story of a child, and I found Edib Adivar’s later years to be much more interesting. On the other hand, there is truth to the cliche that “the child is father to the man,” and it works for women, too. So I appreciate what Hazan tried to do. And it was a good book. I was just looking for something more. Perhaps Hazan intended this to be the first of a series, in which case the best is yet to come.

This blog is meant to tell readers who care about animals whether animals come to harm in a book. Here, they do not, making the book SAFE for animal lovers. There are a few animals mentioned, but no real animal characters; there is a tired horse, nothing more. I recommend this book despite the quibbles I noted above.

January 11, 2009 - Posted by | animals, Book Reviews, history | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

