The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Random Thoughts on a Sunday

I only have about 10 book reviews ready to post, but I felt like doing something else today. So here goes!

Political yard signs. People, the election is over. Pick up your yard signs and put them away. If you still have yard signs out, you are either gloating or whining. Neither is pretty. Please, go outside, gather up your yard signs, and rake or plant tulip bulbs or something. The election is over. If you want to have Obama-Biden signs out for the inauguration, you can put them back out in mid-January. If you keep them out until then, they will fade and look pathetic, and you don’t want that. Furthermore, Santa doesn’t visit people with political yard signs still out from a November 4 election. He’s making his list right now, and I am helping him. So please, I’m begging you, for yourselves, your neighbors, and especially me: pull up your yard signs and put them away. Unless you are in an area with a run-off election, it is too late for anyone to vote for your candidates. Your yard signs have served their purpose. Let’s all move along now, and put the yard signs away. Thank you!

And who am I to be telling you what to do? I’m me, and this is my blog. If you disagree with me, go get your own blog. It’s easy. I’ll even tell you how to do it. Or, just leave your yard sign up in defiance of my decree. I don’t really care.

Here is something that will make you laugh. Who knew that Star Trek, Monty Python, and YouTube could blend so hilariously? Well, someone figured it out. Here is the proof:

 

My mom’s pumpkin cookie recipe. Need something to take to Thanksgiving? Will there be kids there? Make these, and everyone will love you. This recipe is weirdly pulled over from my recipe software.

                           Soft Pumpkin Cookies

     1/2     cup            butter – softened
  1 1/2     cups          sugar
  1            cup           pumpkin – solid pack
  1                             egg
  1            teaspoon   vanilla
  2 1/2     cups          flour
  1            teaspoon   baking soda
  1            teaspoon   baking powder
  1            teaspoon   cinnamon
     1/2     teaspoon   nutmeg
     1/2     teaspoon   salt

Cream butter and sugar in large bowl.  Add egg and vanilla, beat until fluffy.  Combine flour and dry ingredients.  Add to butter mixture alternating with pumpkin.  Drop rounded teaspoonfuls onto lightly greased cookie sheets.  Smooth tops.  Bake at 350 for 15 to 20 minutes or until lightly browned.

Cool and ice with buttercream icing.

November 23, 2008 - Posted by | food, humor, random thoughts, recipes, satire, YouTube/music | , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hmmmm, I think I’ll make those cookies for Thanksgiving to take to the man’s aunt’s.

    But no pressure. 😉

    Comment by Terri | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. These cookies are idiot-proof, trust me — that’s why I’m idiot enough to take them to Dave’s relatives, including his aunt who used to be a chef, then a pastry chef, then a restaurant owner, then a pastry chef again. Did I mention that this aunt is also outspoken, opinionated, and blunt?

    As you said, no pressure!

    Comment by esheley | November 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

