The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Does the Dog Die? A Brief Review of The Yiddish Policemen’s Union, by Michael Chabon

Real life has been interfering with blogging. And reading.

However, I did read this book recently, for my book group. I would characterize it as literary fiction, though it won a science fiction award because the setting is invented. And it has a thread of the police procedural genre running through it. I thought it was good but not great, which was the majority opinion of the book group. One woman loved it, however. I am not fond of gloomy protagonists, nor do I like police procedurals, so it wasn’t something I would recommend to most people. However, we all have different tastes. And there were moments of humor, though I would never call it funny.

Anyway, this book is SAFE for animal lovers. There’s a brief scene with a morose dog, and a reference to a pet duck, but otherwise nothing happens regarding animals.

September 6, 2008 - Posted by | animals, Book Reviews | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I’m sorry to read about your sweet cat. That is a pretty picture of her. I read this book and have to agree with you. It was ok, but not great. Completly safe for animal lovers though!

    Sharon (Rusty’s mom)

    ps – how did you get that picture in the sidebar??

    Comment by Rusty | September 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

