The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Does the Dog Die? A Brief Review of Letter from Point Clear, by Dennis McFarland

I loved this book. It was funny in spots, sad in other spots, and a warm look at brother-sister relationships, which can sometimes be rather prickly. (I know this from experience!) The story is that of a wayward younger sister, Bonnie, who marries an evangelical minister, setting up a showdown between him and her gay brother, Morris. Older sister Ellen alternately comforts, strategizes, and gets in the way. I thought it dragged a bit in the middle, but I think most books drag a bit in the middle. Overall, it was humorous, eloquent, and thought-provoking, and I highly recommend it.

And it did have pets as characters, specifically a dog named Cricket and a cat named China. Both are pretty old, and we all know what happens to old pets eventually, as I’ve recently experienced with the loss of Priscilla. Cricket and China are treated with respect throughout, the animal death isn’t shown, and the departed pet is properly mourned, so I am declaring this book SAFE for animal lovers because the death really isn’t traumatic, it’s just a bit sad.

July 31, 2008 - Posted by | animals, Book Reviews, pets | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. The dog does die sometimes. Sometimes we have to make the decision to make their life easier. My dog must have had a seizure while I was out. I came home to take her out and she fell out of the front door. A workman helped me put her into my car and her vet didn’t hold out much hope but gave me the decision to make.

    She was conscious and in pain. I chose euthanasia as it was the best choice. I stayed with her and she fought the pain medication and stood up five times to stay with me. I held her the whole time. She was an abused dog that I met at the shelter and had for ten years.

    Chani was loved by so many people that over forty friends and neighbors donated a tree to the city in her honor.

    I guess this falls in the category of random thoughts. I would not have subjected a child to what was done that day, because it was traumatic. I made the decision and held her and made sure she was remembered. The doc later told me she’d bled out and wouldn’t have made it anyway. Her ashes are in a good place, some right here in the teddy bear she took to the park the day before she died. Our friend Joan opened up a pocket in the heart of the bear and sewed in an intricate felt heart with tiny beads all around. And placed all her photos in a collage.

    Our dogs are special. To their owners, of course. To others, yes. In our memories they remain as if they were pups. I just made a calendar with a photo from over 10 years ago of my Chani and it will go out to family and friends tomorrow. You’re right. The dog doesn’t die after all. dee@cookingwithdee.net, thanks, Dee

    Comment by pawsinsd | December 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

