The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Does the Dog Die? A Brief Review of The Girl Who Trod on a Loaf, by Kathryn Davis

Since I loved Kathryn Davis’s The Thin Place so much, I thought I’d read another one of her books. I don’t know if I chose the wrong one or what, but I wasn’t that impressed with The Girl Who Trod on a Loaf. I liked the concept, about two women, a Hans Christian Andersen tale, opera, and missed opportunities, but the book didn’t come through for me. I think my main problem was that I wasn’t drawn to either Frances or Helle, the two main characters. And it really seemed as if Davis had some fascinating ideas that didn’t translate to the page. Oh, well. I’m not going to give up on her, but I was disappointed.

As for the animals, this book is Mostly Safe for animal lovers. There are a few unpleasant images, such as foxes being made into a fur coat, and a poisoned wolverine. But, as in The Thin Place, Davis treats animals with respect. Along with a couple of dogs, one of her characters befriends a rat, for example. Unlike The Thin Place, the animals do not have their own voices and are not characters in and of themselves.

My recommendation is to read The Thin Place if you haven’t already, skip this book, look for anything new Davis writes, and — please? — let me know your thoughts on any of her other books you might have read.

June 2, 2008 - Posted by | animals, Book Reviews | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Rusty’s mom here: I was so sorry to read about the loss of your father and his struggle these last few years. It is never an easy thing to endure. It sounds as if you had a special relationship with your father, that makes it all the more heart breaking. May God bless you and yours.

    Comment by Rusty | June 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

