The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Does the Dog Die? Two Books I Didn’t Finish

Sometimes a book doesn’t warrant the time it takes to read it. And this is an individual decision we make for ourselves alone. So just because I chose not to finish these books doesn’t mean you shouldn’t try them. I would just let them sit quietly in my book recycling/resale corner and not mention them, but I do think I need to discuss their treatment of animals because I try to get as many books as possible into this blog.

The books I didn’t like enough to finish are Lisa See’s Flower Net, and Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven by Fannie Flagg. Flower Net Might Not Be Safe for animal lovers, because of a plot twist I’ll reveal in the first comment, below. And Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven is Almost Certainly Safe for animal lovers. More on that book below, too.

March 20, 2008 - Posted by | Book Reviews, cats | , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I was so disappointed with Flower Net — I desperately wanted to like it because I’d heard such great things about Lisa See. But I went through a phase where I read a lot of mysteries, and now I’m fussier about them than any other genre. Plus, I didn’t really like any of See’s characters, and I thought the plot was predictable. There’s a major plot twist — and I did say above that I’d reveal it here — about wild animals being harvested for body parts. It didn’t surprise me, however, and it was at that point I decided not to read the book any further.

    Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven is a great book for someone who wants a light, slow, amusing diversion. (So what’s my problem? I don’t know.) It was a little too Chicken Soup-y for my tastes, but I’d recommend it to some people. I got about 1/5 of the way through before I decided I wanted something livelier. Anyway, the main character, Elner, is a sweet little old lady whose cat, Sonny, it taken in by friends when Elner appears to die. I flipped to the end to see if Sonny showed up in an epilogue, and there was something about someone else starting a shelter for homeless cats. I’m still not sure what happens to Sonny, but I’m not going to finish the book just because there’s a cat character in it. I will say that either Sonny sets age records, or he’s immortal, or Elner keeps getting cats and naming them all Sonny. Let me know if you find out.

    Comment by esheley | March 20, 2008 | Reply

  2. I always like to hear what you have to say about books. Thanks!

    Comment by Rusty | March 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hi, my sister just sent me the link to your site, and I was scanning through starting at the beginning.

    I think the key to Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, is that you needed to have read the books that came first. Flagg has written several books involving these same charecters, starting from years before this book took place.

    Indeed, there have been many Sonny cats.

    Comment by rhiyaya | January 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

