The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Does the Dog Die? A Brief Review of The Inheritance, by Annabel Dilke

I really hated this book. So why did I finish it? Well, for starters, I had gotten about half-way through another book I didn’t like and stopped reading it, so I wondered if it was my mood. And when I began reading The Inheritance, I liked it quite a bit. But ultimately, I determined that I couldn’t stand any of the characters, and that’s always a deal-killer for me. I especially hated Harry, the patriarch of the family and the inspiration for my posting of Monty Python’s Upper Class Twit sketch, below. Except Harry wasn’t funny. But he was extremely twit-ish. And selfish and clueless and wretched.

As for the animals, if you decide to read this book anyway — and I certainly hope you don’t — it is Mostly Unsafe for animal lovers. More details will be in the first comment, below.

March 14, 2008 - Posted by | Book Reviews, pets | , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Here’s how vile and clueless Harry was: when one of his favorite dogs, Champion, injures his leg, Harry assumes Champion will just heal on his own. By time one of Harry’s daughters intervenes and takes Champion to the vet, the leg has to be amputated. And after that, Harry can’t bear to be around Champion, because the dog reminds Harry of his own idiocy.

    There’s also pheasant hunt, in which it’s explained how Harry’s servants get the birds accustomed to feeding in a big field of kale planted just so the birds will be where the hunters want them. And then they’re flushed out and shot. It seems particularly barbaric. And when Harry stupidly loses the family estate, he has the dogs all shot.

    I would have hated this book even without the animal abuse, however. It’s just awful.

    Comment by esheley | March 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. The pheasant hunt you describe isn’t far from Dick Cheney’s psychopathic bagged hunts. Basically, he’ll kill hundreds of birds in a day, as though they are living skeet.

    Comment by avienne | March 14, 2008 | Reply

  3. I just finished reading this book. I found it quite captivating and original. It made me realise even more how much influence parental love (or the lack of it) effects kids’ development. There’s one thing which I did not understand…Whose ghost was the lady in black who was seen at a window by Mrs. Chandler one night and later on, at the end of the book, by Eve?

    Comment by trudy | March 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

