The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Three Meals and a Bottle of Wine

I believe in cooking for one. I have never understood people who short-change themselves because they’re alone for dinner. If I am by myself, I deserve a good meal as much as if Dave is here or I have a house full of people. It takes a different kind of planning, but it’s not rocket science.

When Dave and I were weathered in, I doubled up meals I normally make for myself. Scrambled eggs with Monterey jack cheese for breakfast? That’s a no-brainer. For lunch, I made the Buffalo Chicken Cornbread I mentioned in a previous post. That recipe originated with Cast Iron Cooking for Dummies, which I still check before heading into the kitchen. But I’ve made that one my own already.

For dinner, I made gnudi. I can’t find a link to the recipe I use, but this one sounds good http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/236878 and I may try it next time. I love gnudi, and I was somewhat disappointed that cooking a “double” batch  from my usual single serving seemed to not work as well. It may have been a matter of an overcrowded pot. In any case, the gnudi weren’t as firm as usual. But they were still good.

I broke out a bottle of prosecco, an Italian sparkling wine (not champagne, if you go along with the French on that). It wasn’t as interesting as champagne or California sparkling wines, but it was pleasant enough. What was interesting was that we didn’t feel as if we’d had much to drink at all, yet the prosecco had an alcohol content of 11%.

February 23, 2008 - Posted by | recipes, wine | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Rusty’s mom here: You’re a better person than me. If David isn’t here I eat a sandwich and an apple or heat up a South Beach frozen dinner. I know, yuck! What can I say. I’ve never heard of gnudi before. I read the recipe at the link you left and it sounds like it would be tasty. From what I read it sounds like the little gnudis would fall apart in boiling water. They hold their shape?

    Comment by Rusty | February 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi, Rusty’s mom!

    The gnudi do hold their shape. The one thing you can’t do — which is what I did on Friday — is to put them all in a bowl once they’re cooked. When I’ve made them for myself, I have always placed the cooked gnudi directly on my plate, which cools them off. When I put them in a bowl to serve to Dave, they all mushed together, probably because they were continuing to cook and didn’t have air around them. That’s the current theory.

    I find that making them initially takes about 90 minutes, but then I have enough left over to freeze for 4 or 5 meals. So for subsequent meals, it’s just a matter of putting them in simmering water for a few minutes and heating some kind of sauce, like pesto or butter, garlic, and sage.

    Comment by esheley | February 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. I generally don’t cook. In fact, I only cook if I’m making a meal for Mike and me. It’s more an aversion to making a big mess to clean up than anything else. I’ll make a mess even if I’m just making a salad.

    Comment by Avienne | February 24, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Comment by sandrar | September 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

