The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Does the Dog Die? Brief Notes on Two Books

First, we have a warning from Rusty (whom I believe is a dog and whose site I will link to shortly), who said that his mother couldn’t finish “A Dog Called Kitty” by Bill Wallace because it was too sad. So that book is probably Not Safe.

Also, I finally finished Planet Cat, by Sandra Choron, Harry Choron, and Arden Moore. This is a nonfiction compendium that I first mentioned in another post: https://esheley.wordpress.com/2008/01/23/does-the-dog-die-a-short-review-of-planet-cat-by-sandra-choron-harry-choron-and-arden-moore/ . I have changed my opinion somewhat, which I’ll explain in the first comment.

February 16, 2008 - Posted by | Book Reviews, cats, pets | , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. As I mentioned before, this book is a compendium of short articles, essays, and bits of information. The “dangerous” part is in the first of the book’s four sections, where there are some squirm-inducing anecdotes. For example, “14 Famous Cat Haters” is not going to be warm and fuzzy and devoid of nasty images. So if you decide to read this book, proceed carefully through the first section.

    However, the remaining three sections are entertaining, informative, and even helpful. I am a tape-flag geek to begin with, and my copy is now full of them, starting at about page 170. Health and training information abounds, much of it excellent and the rest very good.

    The only thing I felt was missing was some more specific info on the diseases and conditions of old age. This may be because I have a diabetic cat and a hyperthyroid cat who also has kidney issues. But Eddie is 13 and has been diabetic for almost 4 years. Priss is almost 19 and has had her health issues for about 7 years. That’s a pretty large chunk of time for both of them. And it would be helpful to have a short article discussing really common age-related problems like heart murmurs and kidney insufficiency. Also, the book is excellent in referring readers to strong websites, and I would have liked to have seen more of that in the health area. Now, granted, it seems like everyone who has a diabetic cat writes about it online. But where do you go for chronic renal failure info? That takes more digging. And to my knowledge, there’s no such thing as a “feline hyperthyroidism community” online. So if the Chorons and Moore (who has written other cat books I enjoyed) ever update this book, I’d like to see more on this type of thing.

    Otherwise, I’m glad I read Planet Cat, and I recommend it. Just tread carefully in the beginning if you are easily disturbed by descriptions of animal cruelty.

    Comment by esheley | February 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

