The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Good Wine

On impulse in Trader Joe’s last week, I bought a bottle of the 2003 Montecillo Rioja. I am very happy with this choice — it proved to be a good table wine to accompany casual dining at home. It was better on the second and third nights, but that’s fine. I hate feeling like my only choices are to drink more than I want to or to let a good wine go bad. There was no risk of that with this gentle Spanish wine.

I’m not sure I’ve ever had a bad Rioja. I find them to be reliable and reasonably priced.

February 13, 2008 - Posted by | wine | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Mom likes wine but she has never tried Rioja. Next time she’s going to try a bottle.

    Mom said she read a young peoples book called “A Dog Called Kitty” by Bill Wallace to her class. Not safe. She didn’t know that till the end. Then she had to just put the book down and never finished it for her class. 😦

    Comment by Rusty | February 16, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks, Rusty. I’m going to refer to your comment in another post, so the warning about the book will be more prominent.

    Comment by esheley | February 16, 2008 | Reply

  3. I have visited this site on many an occasion now but this post is the 1st one that I have ever commented on.

    Congratulations on such a fine article and site I have found it very helpful and informative – I only wish that there were more out there like this one.

    I never leave empty handed, sometimes I may even be a little disappointed that I may not agree with a post or reply that has been made. But hey! that is life and if every one agreed on the same thing what a boring old world we would live in.

    Keep up the good work and cheers.

    Comment by Suzanne Langley | March 16, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the feedback, Suzanne. I’m blushing!

    I bookmarked your cooking site so I can go back and explore it in more depth later on. Sometimes I wish I could spend all day cooking.

    Comment by esheley | March 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

