The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Does the Dog Die? A Short Review of The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory

We read this for my book group, which met last night. It’s set in Tudor England and is an engaging, historically INaccurate account of the life of Mary Boleyn, the sister of Anne Boleyn. There are no animal characters, although there are a few passing mentions of animal cruelty such as cockfighting. Since none of this is described at any length, however, I will go ahead and declare this book SAFE for animal lovers.

See the first comment for more.

January 24, 2008 - Posted by | Book Reviews | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I was alone among the four of us in thinking that the middle dragged. But I really did feel that Gregory was beating her readers over the head with a certain sequence of events that occurred over and over (and over and over) again. Two or three times is enough, okay? Otherwise, though, it was an enjoyable book. And our group is fortunate to have a major Anglophile who knew all the history in great detail and could compare the book with the facts.

    Comment by esheley | January 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. My book club really loved this book. I’m not sure what the event you’re referring to that occurred repeatedly, but it’s been a few months since I read it. Hmmm. I really can’t think what it would be.

    Your blog is interesting. You’d probably really hate the book Winterdance: The Fine Madness of Running the Iditarod (not the most wonderful event for dogs). I reviewed it on my blog last fall, but not with an eye toward animal cruelty.

    Comment by lisamm | February 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. […] book of Gregory’s that I’ve read, the first being The Other Boleyn Girl, which got a tepid review from me a few months ago. The Boleyn Inheritance was much better, and reaffirmed my decision to […]

    Pingback by Does the Dog Die? A Brief Review of The Boleyn Inheritance, by Philippa Gregory « The Dog Doesn’t Die | October 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

