The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Good Music, Bad Wine, Good Food

I just added the link for WEAA radio, which I listen to online a fair amount. WEAA is a public radio station sponsored by Morgan State University in Baltimore, which I knew nothing about prior to discovering the station. But I love the jazz they play, and they’ve broadened my horizons considerably.

For the wine and food part of this entry, see the first comment.

January 23, 2008 - Posted by | recipes, YouTube/music | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I have always maintained that it’s not that hard to find good wine if you’re willing to spend money on it. The trick is finding good wine that is also inexpensive. So I watch the specials at Whole Foods, which are usually pretty reliable. Here is one that is not: the 2004 Bonarda by Tittarelli Vineyards of Argentina. I usually like Argentinian wines, but this one was harsh.

    On the other hand, Cast Iron Cooking for Dummies had a great recipe for Buffalo Chicken Cornbread. I wasn’t sure I’d like it, but I am usually willing to try anything combining hot sauce and blue cheese. Plus, I needed to continue breaking in my new cast iron skillet. Anyway, this recipe turned out quite well. I will definitely make it again.

    Comment by esheley | January 23, 2008 | Reply

  2. Bummer (about the bad wine)! I just discovered a new favorite – an Argentina Bonarda that’s incredible….very smooth. The Ignis Tupungato Reserva Bonarda at $12.99 is awesome and quite affordable. Great with food, too. (Thanks for the warning about the Tittarelli.)

    Comment by pjfitzy | January 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

