The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Bad Dinner, Good Books — Recommendations For and Against

Because I am a writer and one never knows where things might lead, I’m not going to name the magazine that included the bad recipe. Suffice it to say that if you see a recipe calling for ground turkey, a cup of scallions, and rotini pasta, you have likely come across something that I recommend against. (I think those three ingredients should offer sufficient clues.) The scallions did not save it from being too bland, IMHO.

 As for the good books, see below.

January 7, 2008 - Posted by | Book Reviews, recipes | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Since starting this blog, I have debated whether or not to discuss books that have no animals in them. I’ve finally decided to do so, because they would be SAFE by definition.

    Murder on the Leviathan by Boris Akunin takes place almost entirely on board a ship in the 1800s. There are no animals mentioned whatsoever. Akunin is a best-selling mystery author in Russia, and some of his works have been translated into English. His style recalls that of Agatha Christie, and for the most part I found this book highly enjoyable. However, you know how you get mentally sucked into the world of the book, and something jarring can pull you out and break the spell? Akunin reflects the prejudices of the characters’ time, and a couple of times those prejudices pulled me out. I still recommend the book — it was a good, fun read.

    Another book that was fun to read was A Fool’s Gold by Bill Merritt. Again, there is nary an animal to be seen here. Instead, a young attorney is stuck closing his law firm after the senior attorney who hired him dies, leaving behind assorted messes and mysterious clients. The humor is mostly in the writing style, so I don’t think I can do it justice in a review. Suffice it to say, I read passages out loud to my SO, Dave. Whenever I read anything out loud to Dave, it’s A++ funny.

    Comment by esheley | January 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

