The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Thoughts for the New Year

I haven’t done real New Year’s resolutions for many years, but I do find early January to be a good time for initiating new projects. This is partly because I’m home from my holiday travels and back onto a regular schedule, so I have more control over my life again. There was a great article in the 1/1/08 Washington Post about how Buddhists celebrate the new year: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2007/12/31/AR2007123102214.html . What I like about their approach (as reported here) is the focus on a theme, which for this year is “the year of capable people and development.” I’ll give further thoughts on this topic in the first comment below.

January 1, 2008 - Posted by | random thoughts | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Before I get to that, I’m going to state the one commitment I’m making that’s closest to a resolution: cut way back on sugar. I have a killer sweet tooth, and I indulge it too much. I’m at a normal, healthy weight, but I’m also on the edge of moving up a clothing size. I’d rather drop a few pounds than buy new clothes. For starters, it’s cheaper this way. So goodbye to sugar, at least for a while.

    Back to the Buddhists, capable people, and development. My big project for the new year is to diversify my client base. I’ve fallen into a rut, and I need to pull myself out. No, I’m not going to record all the gory details of client-searching here, but the notion of being a capable person furthering my professional development is extremely appealing!

    Of course, it’s not all about work, even though I live near Washington, DC, which is a city that I characterize as being all about work. But work is my focus for now. And maybe I’ll be better able to focus without all that sugar in my system.

    Comment by esheley | January 1, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

