The Dog Doesn’t Die

Book reviews & random thoughts

Does the Dog Die? A Short Review of Three Junes, by Julia Glass

The title of this blog relates to a concern many animal lovers have about the books they read. So I am going to do short reviews of books with animal characters and tell what happens with the animals. I will not otherwise spoil the ending of a book.

Three Junes is SAFE if you don’t want to read about animal cruelty or sad, premature deaths. There are four animal characters in this book:

  • Felicity, a parrot. Felicity has a large presence in this book. The last we see of her, she is in good hands with someone who has cared for her well.
  • Roger/Rodgie, a border collie. Rodgie is lightly and briefly neglected when a human character tends to another human’s crisis, but otherwise he is well-loved and cared for. He dies of old age.
  • Mavis and Druid, spaniels. One dies of old age.

Dogs and birds are discussed quite frequently, and the mother of a main character was a dog trainer.

I would also recommend this book for book groups. In fact, I read it because it was the second choice of my own group last month. It’s well-written, the characters are complex without being off-putting, and there’s ample opportunity for discussion among the various plot elements, themes, characters, etc. I give it a solid A for this purpose.

For a synopsis of the entire book and some other reader reviews, here is the Amazon link:

http://www.amazon.com/Three-Junes-Julia-Glass/dp/0385721420/ref=ed_oe_p

December 16, 2007 - Posted by | Book Reviews | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Since a couple of people have wanted to comment here, and since it’s not obvious how to do that without a comment already in place, I’m leaving a “starter comment” under this post. I’ll answer myself on future posts as well.

    Comment by esheley | December 19, 2007 | Reply

  2. I’m adding this on behalf of my friend Dana, who wrote it in an e-mail and is a bit too swamped to come here on her own:
    Oddly (or not), I am WAY MORE AFFECTED by what happens to animals than what happens to people, in books and sometimes in real life. I could not listen to a single report about the Michael Vick case–I got the broadest outline and that was it. I didn’t even like those pictures of his property that were in the paper. Stories (real and fictional) about animal abuse haunt me for YEARS, so I avoid them as much as I can. On the other hand, I feel very sad when I hear about child or other people abuse or death, but it doesn’t stick in my head and tear at my gut. I was reluctant to
    read Water for Elephants because I read that there were some instances of animal cruelty in it, so I’ll wait for your blog review.

    However, I did read Timbuktu by Paul Auster, in which the dog does die–and yet it is one of the most beautiful and amazing books I’ve ever read and even the death is compellling. Still, the dog on the cover looks just like Yogi, and as a result, I have not been able to get Chris to read it.

    Comment by esheley | December 19, 2007 | Reply

  3. very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

    Comment by music | January 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

